How to Close an Auction, an Item or a Category

This article will explain how to close your auction by a timer, entirely or, close an item early or close a specific category.

There are a few strategies organizations use to begin closing their auction. Handbid has the functionality to allow you to close by category, on a timer, all at once, or even by individual item(s). This article will provide steps for performing each method.

 



Article Index:

  1. Overview
  2. Close Auction by Timer
    1. Cancel Timer
  3. Close Entire Auction Immediately
    1. Auction Close Process

    2. Ramifications of Closing Auction
  4. Close by Category

  5. Close Individual Item(s)


Overview

When you are ready to close your auction or to schedule it to close, you will need to click the STOP button on your auction dashboard.  This will reveal a menu with 3 options:

  • Close auction by Timer (schedule it to close in the future)
  • Close Auction NOW (this will close it immediately)
  • Close Category (close a specific category) 

                               

 

PLEASE NOTE!

Your auction will not simply close at the time and date you specify in your event settings. You will need to schedule a timer in order for it  to close automatically at a specific time. Use the instructions here in this article.

 

Close Auction By Timer

OUR RECOMMENDATION:  CLOSE AUCTION BY TIMER

When you opt to close the auction by timer, this will give your bidders some notice that the event is closing.   As soon as the timer is set,  Handbid will pop up an alert to your guests that the auction is set to close and display a countdown timer on their App or Web page.

To close your auction in the future, select the Close Auction by Timer option and wait for the Close by Timer modal to appear:

                             

You can either set a timer to close in a specified number of hours or minutes (on the left side) or at a specific time and date (on the right side).  If you just want your auction to close in 15 minutes, then put 15 in the minutes box on the left and click the "SET TIMER" button on the left side.

If you would prefer for your auction to close later in the week, perhaps on Friday night at 9 PM. Then click on the calendar icon on the right hand side and select a specific time and date.

Note: the date and time you select will be based on your auction's timezone. If you are not sure what that is, refer to the blue text below the date input. 

When you have the time and date set, then click SET TIMER on the right hand side. Handbid will ask you to confirm your setting and then set your timer.  If it is set, you will see a timer indicator in the top right of the manager:

                                     

Cancelling a Timer

We do not recommend cancelling at timer as a general practice (it annoys your bidders); but, if you must, you can. Simply click the "cancel" link next to the Timer indicator in the tool bar (just below where it says "Auction scheduled to close"....

Handbid will not notify your bidders that the timer has been cancelled.  We recommend that you do that and explain why if appropriate. 

 

Close Entire Auction Immediately

It is generally not the best approach (as no bidders are warned), but you can close your auction immediately by clicking "Close Entire Auction Now".  Handbid will pop up a confirmation box and ask you to type the word CLOSE in there to close it.  

                   

 

The Auction Close Process

When you close it immediately or by a timer, Handbid CLOSES the auction and then starts a close process that goes through each category looking for any OPEN items with bids.  Those items are then placed on the winner's invoice and marked as SOLD.  

You will see the notifications tab update as the items are processed.  

                               

Once the auction close process has completed, Handbid does a quick AUDIT to make sure things are accurate and all invoices are correct.  Once this audit is done, the auction will alert you (if you are in the manager) that the results are complete. 

                         

 

Once you see the AUDIT complete message, you can start processing invoices and/or running a checkout.

                 

Ramifications of Closing your Auction

Once your auction is closed, ANY items that were open with bids on it will be marked SOLD to the winning bidder and placed on that bidder's invoice.  This can NOT be undone without a lot of work on your end (it is a manual process) and A LOT of frustration from your bidders (who will be either confused, upset or both)

Close by a Category

To close a category, select the "Close a Category" option in the STOP menu.  The 
Close Auction by Category modal will appear where you can select a category and then type CLOSE in the box below to close it.

No notice will be given to bidders that a category is closing, so be sure to warn them in advance!

                         

 

Close Individual Item(s)

TO close a single item, you need to click on the item in the auction manager to bring up the edit window. From there, you can change its status to SOLD.  When you do this, the item will be marked as sold and it will be put on the winning bidder's invoice. 

NOTE: There will be no warning to bidders that the item is closing - you should do that through a broad cast message, giving them ample notice to get their bids in. 

                                 

NOTE: Once an item is marked as sold, a purchase will be generated and it will be put on the winner's invoice.  This can be undone if you want to open up the item again. You will need to delete the winning bid on that item and the item will re-open with the previous bidder now the winner.

If you needed to bid again for that same winning bidder to put the item back where it was, you could then do that once the item was again open.